MOTHERING FROM THE SIDELINES…AND WHY IT HAS ETERNAL VALUE

I can’t tell you how often I feel like I’m failing my kids. 

Like….often. As in…ALL OF THE TIME.

The list is long. I’m not feeding them organic enough. Not paying attention to their school work as attentively as I could. Not speaking as kindly as I want to when I am rushed. Not teaching them enough respect for others or for each other. As a Mama, today I am not fun enough. And not tender enough.  Not organized enough. And the fears of how I’m failing them? They grow as my children grow.

But my heart’s confession about my worst fear? I’m afraid that I will fail to teach my children to fall in love with God and His sacred Word the way my Mama taught the four of us. I am afraid for my children’s eternity. 

I feel all of these failures heavy today.

And then this afternoon, I get a sweet pocket of an hour alone with Jesus in an ordinary place. I’m sitting in the grass on the side of the soccer field while our oldest girl dribbles that orange soccer ball just feet away. Our little boy is playing nearby. We are in the humdrum hours before dinner and it’s gray space. And because I am weary? I pull my Bible out of my overflowing Mama-bag and turn through its tattered pages.  I sit there, with everyday life swirling around, and my soul marinates in Colossians.

“I want them to be encouraged and knit together by strong ties of love. I want them to have complete confidence that they understand God’s mysterious plan, which is Christ himself.” Colossians 2:2

The Scriptures bring my tired, failing heart new life. They refresh and encourage me. God’s Word helps remind me that when I fail, and I do daily, He fills in all of the parenting gaps. God is enough, even when I am not. 

And then my boy runs over and climbs onto my lap. As I go to close my Bible to make room for him, he leans in close and says, “Mama, keep it open! Will you please read this out loud to me Mama so I can learn about God too?” 

20645455_1425204630862785_3907094656498712955_o

And he’s just 6 now. It’s tempting to wonder if these sacred texts are too complex or too confusing for a young boy’s soul. But I remember when I was a girl that it was in those everyday, ordinary spaces like this- in cracks of time waiting in the fast food drive-thru line or sitting in the basketball bleachers or when my siblings and I were there antsy in doctor offices- it was the routine moments like this when my Mama would pull out her worn Scriptures from her bag and begin to read. She never required us to join her, just invited us in. And because we loved my Mama, we fell in love with her Savior. 

Mamas, those mundane moments throughout the ordinary days that feel so unimportant? They are when we can most reach our children’s hearts. 

So if you are wondering how to best teach your kiddos the Gospel?

Keep. Working. On. Your. Relationship. With. God. First. Above. All. Else.

And today release all of those Mama-fears about how you are daily failing your kids to God. I know God is listening. And I promise your children are watching. Because I’m learning that mine are too…

THE IRREPLACEABLE MOTHER’S MARCH PRAYER 

Dear Jesus, 

    Right now, we offer up the heart’s of our children to you. We pray over each of them by name. We are reminded Lord that these children are YOURS. We are reminded Lord that we are just a steward of them. Use us Jesus to teach them your ways and your truth. When we mess up, and we will often, give us the humbleness and grace to ask our children for forgiveness. God, give us strength when we are tired. Help us to speak when you ask us to speak and hold our tongue when you ask us to just simply LOVE. Thank you for making us a mother. 

Amen. 

One response to “MOTHERING FROM THE SIDELINES…AND WHY IT HAS ETERNAL VALUE”

  1. Beth Avatar
    Beth

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful truths. For grammies too. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a comment

I’m Jodi

This is the story of my wrestling with God over His invitation to embrace the sacred calling of motherhood.

This is the scratching-out of the struggles I have faced, the things I have chased that have left me empty, and the daily abandonment of my will to surrender to my Heavenly Father’s.

This is the telling of the abundant joy I have discovered in purposefully deciding to pour my first and best, where I matter the most.

This is the place to come for a necessary and gentle reminder on those long, frustrating, and lonely days…

MAMA, YOU ARE IRREPLACEABLE.

Discover more from Author & National Speaker Jodi Dauses

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading